Tips & more

4 levels of reading – initial, inspectional, analytical, and syntopical (infographic)

Four levels of reading - analytical reading

Educational Technology has released an infographic that is based on a classic title How to Read a Book written by Mortimer J. Adler.

The book was first published in 1940 and is widely considered a must-read for educators. In 1972, a heavily revised edition was released, co-authored with Charles Van Doren. it takes a closer look at inspectional and syntopical reading.

The infographic below provides brief explanations of four main levels of reading: elementary reading, inspectional reading (also known as skimming), analytical reading, and syntopical (comparative) reading.

It’s true that the book was conceived in a “pre-digital” era but its content is still relevant even now that the digital text is predominantly prevalent.

Click or tap the infographic to see it enlarged.

The four levels of reading #infographic

More infographics to check out: