Interesting facts about the Nobel Prize in Literature (infographic)

Nobel Prize in literature - female vs male winners

In the new infographic, you’ll find facts and figures about the most respected international literary prize.

The Nobel Prize in Literature was established in 1901. Every year the award goes to the author who in the field of literature has produced “the most outstanding work in an ideal direction.”

According to the infographic from Topaussiewriters, throughout over 100 years of the Nobel Prize, only 12% of awarded authors were women.

The infographic includes also other interesting figures, as well as fun facts. For instance, the average age of a Nobel Prize laureate is 65. The youngest winner, Rudyard Kipling, was 42, when he received the prize in 1907.

There is also a split by genre. 77% of awards come to authors who write prose, with only 2% for those who write history books.

And the last thing. Do you know which country the biggest number of Nobel Prize winners come from? It’s France, and there are 15 French writers among all 114 laureates of the Nobel Prize in Literature.

Click or tap on the infographic to see it in full resolution. Make sure to visit the original post to read more details.

Interesting facts and figures about Nobel Prize in literature #infographic

Via Topaussiewriters Blog.

More infographics about books, libraries, and reading:

Want even more? Check out all articles in this topic: Infographics.

Leave a comment

Tips and tricks

Take the 2018 ebook lovers' reading challenge

Take the 2018 ebook lovers’ reading challenge!

Explore these ebook reading prompts that will help you extend the reading scope, explore new authors, and improve the reading experience.

Kindle e-reader or Fire tablet? These questions will help you decide

Kindle e-reader or Fire tablet? This questionnaire will help you choose

This questionnaire, accompanied by simple tips, will help Amazon users choose between a Fire tablet and Kindle e-reader.

Gift ideas

Exceptional gifts for father who loves reading books

35 gifts your dad will love as much as he loves books

A list of the unique gifts for the dad who has everything and who loves reading books. Personal accessories, home decor ideas, tech gadgets, digital subscriptions, Kindle bundles, and more.

The best Amazon Fire 7 (2017 release) cases, covers, and sleeves

17 insanely colorful Amazon Fire 7 (2017) cases and sleeves

Brighten your life with the Fire 7 tablet, and brighten your Fire 7 tablet with one of these colorful cases, covers, and sleeves. They fit the 7th generation Amazon Fire 7, released in June 2017.

Best 50

Best cases and accessories for Samsung Galaxy Tab tablets

50 best Samsung Galaxy Tab cases and accessories

An updated selection of the best Samsung Galaxy Tab case covers, sleeves, and accessories. Tab A, Tab S3/S2, Tab 4, and more.

Best short books for busy people

50 short books for busy people

Best short books you can read in less than three hours. Novels and novellas you can’t miss, short stories, and most interesting non-fiction books.

Let's connect

Share a thought

If you want to discuss the topic or ask a question, please share this post on social media. Make sure to mention us!

You can also contact us directly. Find more details here.

Get free updates via email

Powered by MailChimp
You'll receive email digests on Fridays at 2pm GMT / 10am EST.